My Quest for Healthy Homemade Granola Bars

Granola bars are so easy.  I buy boxes of them at the grocery store and love the convenience of popping a few in my purse for snack emergencies.

It’s hard not to feel guilty as I pass them over to my kids.  Really they are just processed, sugary snacks that could be healthier.  I buy President’s Choice Rich and Chewy Granola Bars with chocolate chips. A 28 gram serving has 110 calories and 9 grams of sugar. I became determined to find a better option.

I started with Grab ‘n Go Crispy Granola Bars from the Sneaky Chef  http://www.thesneakychef.com/free_recipe_granola_bar.php.

On my first try the bars totally fell apart, they tasted oily and my kids wouldn’t touch them.  I went online to see other’s reviews of the recipe and found a fix from the Sneaky Chef.  I tried it and once again was very disappointed with the result.

Then finally, a recipe that works, tastes great and is packed with nutrition. The following is a modified version from Ehow member, gottalovelattes.

  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 2 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1 cup non-fat dry mild powder
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 4 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Spray the bottom and sides of a 13″ x 9″ pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.  In a separate bowl, using a whisk, mix egg whites, honey, apple sauce and brown sugar until incorporated.  Add the oil and vanilla and mix well.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and use your hands to mix well.  Add the chocolate chips and mix to combine.

Fold the mixture into the baking pan and pack it down firmly.  Place the pan into the oven and bake 18 – 24 minutes until golden brown.

While the pan is still warm, cut into small bars or squares.  The granola bars can be stored in a container for up to a week or frozen in ziploc bags to enjoy later.

So yummy!

To view the original recipe: www.ehow.com/how_4681113_granola-bars-kids-will-love.html

3 responses to “My Quest for Healthy Homemade Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: A review of food items that are worth spending the extra money on | Elemental Cheapness

  2. Oooh, these sound great! I can’t bake my way out of a paper bag but…I’m going to give these a try. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

