Yogurt: It’s All Greek to Me

My newest food obsession is creamy, thick, satisfying and… healthy.  Yes, healthy.  Hard to believe you can get all that in a bowl and not feel guilty about it.  I have been bitten by the Greek yogurt bug and am on a quest to keep enough in my fridge to feed my cravings.

Every time I stop in the dairy section of my neighborhood grocery store an empty shelf greets me and a small sign states that they are temporarily out of stock.  Like a junkie looking for a fix I search through the shelves hoping to find one last tub…

Who knew that in just a 175g serving it contains 20g of protein, 110 calories and 6g of carbohydrates?  Oh and did I mention it is delicious? 

If I was a little more ambitious I would try to make my own.  Greek yogurt is made by draining off more of the whey that naturally occurs when yogurt is made from milk.  Apparently you can just take plain yogurt, scoop it into a cheese cloth lined strainer, place it over a bowl, pop it into your fridge for a few hours and voila, a velvety, scrumptious snack is ready.  Here are instructions if you want to try it yourself: http://www.ehow.com/how_4788361_greek-yogurt-save-money.html

Try it with a little honey drizzled over the top or with my kids favourite, maple syrup.  Throw in a few berries and a few tablespoons of your favourite cereal and its a great way to start your day.

Tomorrow I will be hanging out in the dairy section waiting for the new delivery…and if I miss out again I will give it a shot on my own.

What do you think?  Are you as obsessed as I am?  Any favourite recipes out there?  I would love to hear from you…please comment.

2 responses to “Yogurt: It’s All Greek to Me

  1. Indeed I do have a favourite Indian pressed yogurt recipe! It’s sweetened with sugar, infused with saffron folded in with chopped pistachios and almonds. It’s so rich you can only have a few bites. My mother used to make this for me every year on birthday when I was a child, as it was my favourite Indian dessert growing up.

Leave a Reply

