Steeping on a Sunday

I found myself alone today in a quiet house.  The kids and hubby were out and about, the cat was taking a nap and I was about to enjoy a cup of tea.  The solitude of the moment calmed me.  I filled the kettle and  lit the gas. 

I have always loved this quote:

                               Tea…is a religion of the art of life.  ~Okakura

I wanted to capture this thought on film and (finally) add some photos to my blog.  A challenge and the time and space to do it in, lovely.

I admire so many blogs for the sole reason of the photography and just the feel of the space that has been created.  Orangette and 3191 are my latest favourites. I had no idea where to start?  Overwhelmed I surfed around a bit hunting for advice and wasting time admiring the photos I hope to one day take.

I stumbled on this great article by Darren Rouse http://www.digital-photography-school.com/food-photography-an-introduction, and learned a bit and decided now was the time to take the plunge.

And there it is.  As you can see I have a lot to learn and miles to go on this journey, but the first step has been taken.

3 responses to “Steeping on a Sunday

  1. I think it’s a great pic! Look forward to more.

  2. Great pic! I think you are definitely on the right track. I too think about photography now so much more than I ever did before I started blogging – thinking, maybe a class and a new camera wouldn’t be such a bad idea! 🙂

    Really enjoying your writing. Great stories – can’t wait to read more!

  3. Heidi,
    Thanks for the comment. I admire so many blogs out there that have such beautiful photography and it inspires me. You are right a class might be a good idea. My husband is the photography nut in our house but I can’t always rely on him to be with me when the mood strikes. The constant learning part about blogging is one of the things I love. Take care and thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

